A large regional center 30 km from the Kiev-Moscow highway, a large railway junction. Probably in the XII-XIII centuries. here was the center of the chronicle Lipovets principality. According to legend, in these places the Tatar-Mongolian cavalry fell into the swamps and drowned many riders with horses, from which the name originated. The city has been known since 1638 as a Polish fortress, in 1648 it was liberated by the troops of Khmelnitsky. In 1659, the Battle of Konotop took place in the vicinity, in which the Ukrainian-Tatar army of Hetman Vyhovsky defeated the Moscow troops of A. Trubetskoy. The city gained fame thanks to the satirical story "Konotop Witch" by Kvitka-Osnovyanenko. There are few architectural sights. The Holy Ascension Cathedral and the estate of General ...
Aviation Museum
Museum / gallery
The Aviation Museum in Konotop is a department of the Konotop City Museum of Local Lore of Oleksandr Lazarevsky. The history of the museum began in 2004 with the observation deck of the Konotop air base, where three helicopters of Mil family were installed. To date, the exhibition presents the L-39 aircraft, as well as seven different helicopters KB Mil, in particular the world's only surviving to this day air control point Mi-22. In addition, you can see the military bunker during the German-Soviet war.
Administrative status | city |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1638 |
Region | Sumy |