The village of Sinyavka on the r. Sinyava is located 25 km north-west of the Mena, 5 km from the P-12 Chernigov - Novgorod-Seversky highway. It has been known since 1618, when, according to the Deulinsky armistice, together with other lands of the Chernihiv region, the village came under the control of the Commonwealth. From 1649 Sinyavka was a part of the Menskoy hundred, from 1652 it was a centennial town of the Mensky, then the Chernigov regiment. In 1706, the Cossack Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos was founded. The current three-domed wooden Church of the Intercession (1760-75) is an example of the folk architecture of the Left Bank of the Ukrainian Baroque period. The building of the parish school in the Art Nouveau style (1900) has survived nearby.
Administrative status | village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | XVII |
Region | Chernihiv |